Ender’s Game Review

So… guys. I’ve had over 24 hours of mind-clearing recovery and I think I’m in the frame of mind to finally relay to you… a review. On a movie. That I have been waiting for. For literally a stinking year and a stinking half. Ender’s Game!!! *YAY!!!*

So… like I said, I have been waiting for this movie since Hugo came out on DVD, so when it came out on Friday, I’m like… we have to go… *to sister* WE HAVE TO GO!!!!! So we intercepted the lovely Emory (because when fangirling… the more the merrier) and we went.

Our experience in the theatre was fantastic. First, we went into the wrong side of the theatre, and when we got to the very back wall, we’re like, “What… happened…” and Emory (bless her heart) said what all of us were thinking, “Wow… I forgot to look at my ticket.” So we were looking at our tickets and we were about to make our escape when a theatre employee found us. Looking at our tickets in a back hallway… on the exact opposite side of our theatre. “Are you lost?” came the question “WHAT DO YOU THINK?!?!?!?! Yes. *awkward chuckle*” “May I see your tickets?” “NO!!! Sure *hands him ticket*” “Oh… yeah that’s gonna be on the other side.” No. Way. “haha thanks…” We walked away. And we laughed at him as we went.

So we eventually made it to Theatre 5, and we secured very nice, centered seats. And when we had all taken separate trips to the bathroom, gotten discounted popcorn and free soda, and, of course, saved a seat for Doug Vinny, we settled in for the screening.

I have to say that I believe/I’m positive that we fangirled the most during the previews. We squeed through Catching Fire, and then… AND THEN, when Desolation of Smaug came on Emory kindly held out one hand for me, and one hand for my sister, and we, all three, squeezed the living daylights out of each other. And then it started.

They let the suspense build as Asa Butterfield’s frighteningly deepening voice narrated. Then they had a close-up of an eye. They refused to show his entire face, but I’m like, “Really? You think we won’t be able to recognize those blue gems? Wow. You have no faith in us.” For fear of spoilers, I will stop my moment-by-moment narration at this point, simply telling you that I enjoyed it. I really did. I was so good. Asa Butterfield was so good.

Harrison Ford, Ben Kingsley, Viola Davis, Abigail Breslin, Aramis Knight, Hailee Steinfeld, Moises Arias and EVERYONE else were also so good.

Character development was phenomenal, and acting was breathtaking. I will step out and say that Asa Butterfield is my all-time favorite actor, so anything anyone puts him in, I will probably enjoy a little more than everybody else. In some ways, it was as if the storyline left something to be desired, but then I realized how much they managed to fit into that 2 hour period and I was proud of them. Gavin Hood… I commend you… well done. There was not a moment in that movie that I needed something other than what was happening to be happening, and when it ended, I wanted it to keep going.

So, overall, I highly recommend it. Go watch it, you guys.

-Belle

4 responses

  1. Yeah, compared to the book, they left out quite a bit of the plot, but I still think it was an amazing movie! I could have watched those battle scenes for HOURS.

Leave a Reply

