What Happened to Thanksgiving?

Readers… I have a question… several, actually.

1- Did Christmas lights always start going up a week before Thanksgiving?

2- Did people always start playing Christmas music the day after Halloween?

3- Am I the only one who’s noticing this?

4- When did this start?

Let’s answer these shall we?

When I was growing up, Thanksgiving was a big deal. Now, it still is… and I’m still growing up (don’t worry… I’m not one of those people who says “when I was a kid” or “when I was growing up” waaayyy too early)… so what happened? Don’t get me wrong now, everyone, I’m a huge fan of the Christmas spirit, but I’m also a huge fan of taking the special time to celebrate giving thanks.

So should we be putting up Christmas lights? Should we play the heck out of our Christmas playlists? OH HEAVENS, YES!!!

I just think Christmas should wait its turn! C’mon Christmas, you get at least a whole month to yourself!

Now don’t give me that “I-get-minus-one-week-this-year” junk…

you still get about a month! And everyone loves you!!! You’re everybody’s favorite! (including mine(: )
I’m just sayin’ Thanksgiving is my second favorite, and to me it means going to visit my favorite cousins, it means yummy food, it means giving thanks to God for all our blessings, it means traditions!!!

TRADITION

*music cue: “Tradition” from Fiddler on the Roof*

Fiddler on the roof

Also, for your information, one of our traditions is to turn on Christmas music the moment that Thanksgiving dinner is finished (:

Another thing… us Christians could come up with the excuse of “well, we’re just starting to celebrate Jesus’ birthday earlier!” Well, what about celebrating giving thanks to Him, huh?

One of my favorite things right now is the “Heart of the City” comic strip right now, because they’re in the process of illustrating how everyone starts Christmas too early. This was the first strip in the series, and I think it illustrates my point perfectly:

Heart of the City

To conclude, I’d like to apologize for my ramblings, and challenge you to take a deep breath… savor the Thanksgiving season, and take the time to think about being truly thankful.

Wishing you a very Happy Thanksgiving!!! I hope everyone has a fantastic break… I will be back in about a week to tell you about my Thanksgiving 😀

Giving thanks…………….. Princess Belle

2 responses

Leave a Reply

