Love Me Some Resolutions!

Well, would you look at that? It’s 2014 now! Long since time for resolutions and updates and all that jazz. So here I am, late with my New Year’s update post. Here goes:

Firstly: Resolutions. I’ve never done “official” New Year’s Resolutions before, but this year, I really felt like I wanted a good start on the new year, so I made a lovely little list of my goals for the new year.

1- Spend time in God’s word every day.

IMG_2001

At first, for this resolution, I wanted to just say “spend time in God’s word regularly,” but, knowing myself, I knew that if I set my goals higher, I would have better ultimate results. So far, I have done my “quiet time” on the 1st, the 3rd, and today, the 9th. This may seem like a shabby amount, but for me, who’s starting point was nothing this has been a step in the right direction. I have been doing Jim Stephen’s Gracenotes Devotionals and I love them to death.

2- Exercise regularly (3x/week or every other day).

IMG_2000

This has gone better than I ever expected it to! Now, I know that everyone makes this resolution every year, and really, I have been trying to do this for months, but putting it into a resolution really did give me that extra push I needed. I’ve been exercising reliably every other day, either at our local Athletic Club or on our back patio, jump roping (10 minutes of jump roping is equivalent of 30 minutes of running!). I am really with how this resolution is shaping up.

3- Stop snacking/control eating habits.

IMG_2002

I chose this one mainly for the same reasons I chose my previous one: to shed the few pounds that I put on in 2013, and to maintain a healthy lifestyle. I’ve been thinking lately about how soon I will be leaving home for college, etc, and how hard it is to stay fit when you’re on your own. This has been going pretty well, and I have set up a limit of what I’m “allowed” to eat every day.

4- Give God total control of my life.

This is something that God has really put on my heart recently, because if there’s one thing I’ve learned it’s that if I let God handle everything, everything just turns out better all-around. This has been going really well so far.

5- Keep my room tidy.

IMG_2003

Notice, I didn’t say “spotless,” I said “tidy.” Meaning I would like it to stay livable. What is pictured above is an extraordinary improvement from what was erupting in that area previously.

6- READ!

IMG_2004

I have a confession to make: I have never been a very big reader… but the thing is, I want to be a reader, so this year my goal is to read ten books. A small goal, but achievable. The book on the right pictured above, “The Marquis’ Secret” by George MacDonald is the book I’m reading currently. It’s the sequel to “The Fisherman’s Lady.” The other book is “The Bad Beginning,” book the first in A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket. I’ve been wanting to read this series for a considerable amount of time, and I just picked up this one at Barnes and Noble yesterday… I’m SUPER excited about it.

7- Watch Netflix in moderation.

IMG_2005

Now, the part of this resolution that you and I should be focusing on is not the “watch Netflix” part, but the “in moderation” part. You see, as a fangirl, I am a part of fandoms, many of which involve the teli. So I have decided that this year, I am going to, not completely stop watching Netflix (and other television), but rather watch it, as I said, “in moderation.” I’ve only watched a couple of shows just to pass the time this year, so this one is going splendiferously!

8- Get over my internet addiction.

IMG_2006

I am very much addicted to the internet. As I have come to terms with this fact, I have decided to change it. This resolution has not gone as well as I hoped, but I have a whole year to get on track, so we will not give up!

9- Control my time on my phone.

IMG_2009

I got a phone for Christmas (YAY!) so I just want to make sure it does not become an extension of me. I’ll let you know at the end of the month how this shapes up.

10- Be a better daughter, sister, friend, ie: Love like Jesus.

I mentioned in this post about the 1st Corinthians 13 Challinge. If there’s one thing that made as much of a difference in my life as giving God control of it, it was taking this challenge to heart and really trying to learn how to love like Jesus. I am trying my very best to put this in the forefront of everything.

 

There you have it: 10 resolutions to be kept throughout 2014! I will be starting to do a monthly “Report Card/Update” post to keep y’all up to date on how this thang is going (:

Best of luck on all of your resolutions!

 

–Belle ❤

2 responses

Leave a Reply

