“I don’t care.”

Let’s talk about the Superbowl. I go to a friend’s house to watch this event every year with no expectations whatsoever. In fact, I often don’t even know which teams are playing. However, I continue to take on this method each year, because it works very well for me. The past couple of years, I arrived at the scene of the action, and picked whichever team all of my friends were rooting for. Both times, that team won (I think…). This year, though, things went a little bit differently. You see, I flew out to Maui on the day that the Seahawks qualified for the Superbowl. In fact, I was on a plane out of Seattle during the game, so the captain was giving a play-by-play to all of us passengers throughout the game. Therefore, I really felt a special connection to this team. So problem solved! Now I can just have my own opinions! Right? Wrong.

From the Wednesday before the big game to the day of, I was constantly at battle with myself and one of my friends. You see, this friend’s hometown happens to be Denver, so her and her entire family, along with, as it seems, the majority of my youth group, were going Broncos. She had even managed to get people to the dark side who’s entire families were pro-Seahawk. UGH! Annoying.

does this count as annoying gif

(DISCLAIMER: This friend I speak of is fabulous. Only I am allowed to speak of her this way. Read her blog. Seriously though, I love you, my dear!!!)

I then chose that I would put on a facade of “I don’t care” to avoid the flack that I would get otherwise, while still inwardly cheering for the Seahawks.

[SIDE NOTE] On Saturday I was talking to some other friends about the Superbowl, and one of them said that if someone asks you who you’re rooting for, you should just throw out a team from a different sport. Another friend proceeded to demonstrate, “Seattle Mariners!” he said, then, “Tiger Woods!!!” This brought me great joy.

Anywho, on game day, I dressed in a color-neutral outfit, and arrived at my friend’s home with my speech prepared:

The moment I entered the room, I was bombarded with a hoard of people all asking the same question: “Seahawks or Broncos???” However, I held my neutral ground and gave my simple answer… over… and over… and over… and… stinking… over. “I. Don’t. Care.” So I went through the entire game, watching to Seahawks POUND the Broncos, not uttering a single sound other than “I don’t care.” The only time I didn’t use my rehearsed response was once, when someone said something about enjoying watching football. I said, “It’s alright… but I prefer watching golf.” The only responses I received were those of, “Why?? Golf is boring!”, “*judging you*”, and “*silence*”.

angry gif

I decided that my best course of action would be to turn around and crawl back into my shell of “I don’t care.”

So I have chosen that this is a method that works well for me in various sports, to just not care, or to take a deep breath and keep silent about my opinions, unless I’m around those who share in my biases. I decided this is a good outlook.

Just kidding. I don’t keep silent about very many things. But you know what? I don’t care.

–Gracie

7 responses

  1. To me, the Superbowl just means I get to eat food…I honestly have no opinion. I came into the room with my plate of food, sat down with my mom and was like “Do we like the horses or the birds?” Yup. I don’t know why I have this glorious inability to care about sports.

  2. I didn’t know you liked to watch golf! Learn something new every day. Good for you to endeavor not to get into a rooting war (seahawks/broncos), however, I also applaud you for rooting for the right team, even if silently. 🙂

Leave a Reply

