Review: The Maze Runner

This review is pretty delayed, and I’m sorry for how silent I’ve been lately. Trying to prioritize as school gets going is a bit of a pain-in-the-butt. Anyhow, let’s get under way.

I had a slight roadblock in my attempt to read The Maze Runner before I saw the movie. I was about two thirds of the way through, and still going strong, when my friend called me up at the last minute and asked me to go see the movie with her. It had taken all of my will power to even keep from just going by myself before I was done with the book, so I easily conceded. This made for a strange situation as it pertained to knowing what happened, etc. Also, as usual, if you haven’t read the book and/or seen the movie, please leave for your own sake and to put my mind at ease. Thanks(:

All of this aside, however, let me just say that this movie was lovely. LOVELY, I tell you! The first thing I have to say is this: there was a plethora of beautiful men. A. Plethora. I have never seen that many beautiful men together at one time. Casting director, Denise Chamian, I salute you. As is to be expected, I didn’t quite agree with all the changes they made, and I spent more time than I’m proud of leaning to my neighbor, whispering, “In the book, it was like…” For instance, I really didn’t appreciate how it was the initial sting of the griever, and not the serum, that made Ben go crazy. It left me wondering if Alby was just going to die from the griever sting. But it was okay, because Teresa’s all like, “Hey, um, Thomas… I found these serum things in my pocket, so… thought they might be important.” Good. Thanks. THEY’RE OBVIOUSLY FOR ALBY. Pssshhhh Teresa. I’m sorry, but… Teresa… her face… I don’t know… but you know what? I actually accepted it very quickly. She fit well. Yes. And, one quick thing, correct me if I’m wrong, and this may seem a bit disrespectful, but I feel like Gally wasn’t disagreeable enough.

Oh yeah, and what was with all the cussing in that movie? There wasn’t hardly any in the book.

 

Shank.

 

Shuck.

 

Klunk.

 

And they just GOT RID OF beetle blades. Fine.

I spent the whole entire time that Thomas, Alby, and Minho were trapped in the maze with a full-on expression of “uuuuhhhhhhhhhhhhhhAAAHGRIEVERaaaaahhhhhgriiieeeveruuuuuhhhh” on my face. Actually, scratch that, I had that expression for the full-on two hours in that movie theatre.

All that said, let’s talk about what I did like. Nay, LOVE. First, THAT OPENING SHOT, THOUGH. OHMYGOSHYES. Chills, guys. Chills. And tell me I’m not the only one who noticed that Thomas and Alby were wearing the same… freaking… shirt.

See? SEE?

And I’ve never been happier about someone portraying my favorite character than I was about Thomas Brodie-Sangster as Newt.

 

“It’s a girl.

Well spotted, Newt… well spotted.

Also… that there is the best facial expression of all time. Seriously, good luck finding anything better.

  How old do you think this young man is? 16? 17? That’s was I thought too. But NO… he’s FREAKING TWENTY FOUR. TWENTY FLIPPING FOUR, GUYS. They grow up so fast *sniff*. And let me just say, Ferb, you are holding up just fine.

  When the movie finished and the credits rolled, after that gorgeous ending, one of my friends goes, “So I guess they’re making Maze Runner 2?” I’m proud to say that I bit my tongue, kept from ridiculing her, and calmly said, “Yeah! The Scorch Trials.” I didn’t even blatantly correct her. Y’all should be proud of me.

  Next, a great big thank you to my whole entire theatre, you were great. I do really appreciate a good, respectful theatre, especially after being in a theatre for The Fault in Our Stars (third time), where someone laughed, laughed, when Gus said this line: “I guess the world isn’t a wish-granting factory.” But I’m getting off-subject. All in all, lovely job. I have yet to stop raving about this movie. I also have yet to stop holding contests for the best-looking character in the movie. Sadly, I also have yet to finish the book, but I would like to finish it and the rest of the series before The Scorch Trials comes out.

  And cheers to that.

–Gracie

Leave a Reply

